[PW] Sidewise Awards (alternate history/counterfactual fiction); Ngaio Marsh Awards (New Zealand crime fiction)

Todd Mason foxbrick at yahoo.com
Sun Sep 2 11:44:19 PDT 2018

courtesy LOCUS: 

2017 Sidewise Awards Winners

 August 20, 2018

The winners for the 2017 Sidewise Awards for Alternate History have been announced.

Long Form

WINNER: Once There Was a Way, Bryce Zabel (Diversion)

The Berlin Project, Gregory Benford (Saga)
A Time of Need, Brent Harris (Insomnia)
All Our Wrong Todays, Elan Mastai (Dutton)
The Clash of Eagles Trilogy: Clash of Eagles, Eagle in Exile, Eagle and Empire, Alan Smale (Del Rey)

Short Form

WINNER: “Zigeuner”, Harry Turtledove (Asimov’s 9-10/17)

“N’oublions Jamais”, Tom Anderson & Bruno Lombardi (Altered Europa)
“The Twenty Year Reich”, Dave D’Alessio (Altered Europa)
“Sun River”, Nisi Shawl (Clockwork Cairo: Steampunk Tales from Egypt)

The Sidewise Awards have been presented annually since 1995 to recognize excellence in alternate historical fiction. This year’s panel of judges includes Karen Hellekson, Matt Mitrovich, Jim Rittenhouse, Kurt Sidaway, and Steven H Silver. Winners were announced at Worldcon 76, held in San Jose CA from August 16-20, 2018. For more, see the Sidewise Awards website (not yet updated)

courtesy Mystery Fanfare:http://mysteryreadersinc.blogspot.com/2018/09/ngaio-marsh-award-winners-2018.html

The 2018 Ngaio Marsh Awards were presented last night [31 August] in Christchurch, New Zealand. The Ngaio Marsh Award represents the very best in Kiwi Crime. 

Best Crime Novel
Marlborough Man by Alan Carter (Fremantle Press)

Best First Novel 
All Our Secrets by Jennifer Lane (Rosa Mira Books)

--Todd Masonhttp://socialistjazz.blogspot.com/2018/09/underappreciated-music-august.html

More information about the Project-Wombat-Open mailing list