[PW] 2015 Nebula Awards Winners

Todd Mason foxbrick at yahoo.com
Sun May 15 05:36:33 PDT 2016

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America have announced the winners of the 2015 Nebula Awards. The winners are…(listed first in each category!)

NOVEL    * Uprooted, Naomi Novik (Del Rey)
    * Ancillary Mercy, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
    * Barsk: The Elephants’ Graveyard, Lawrence M. Schoen (Tor)
    * The Fifth Season, N. K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
    * The Grace of Kings, Ken Liu (Saga)
    * Raising Caine, Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
    * Updraft, Fran Wilde (Tor)
    * Binti, Nnedi Okorafor (Tor.com)
    * “The Bone Swans of Amandale”, C. S. E. Cooney (Bone Swans)
    * “The New Mother”, Eugene Fischer (Asimov’s Apr/May 2015)
    * “The Pauper Prince and the Eucalyptus Jinn”, Usman T. Malik (Tor.com 22 Apr 2015)
    * “Waters of Versaille”, Kelly Robson (Tor.com 10 Jun 2015)
    * Wings of Sorrow and Bone, Beth Cato (Harper Voyager Impulse)
    * “Our Lady of the Open Road”, Sarah Pinsker (Asimov’s Jun 2015)
    * “And You Shall Know Her by the Trail of Dead”, Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed Feb 2015)
    * “The Deepwater Bride”, Tamsyn Muir (F&SF Jul/Aug 2015)
    * “Grandmother-nai-Laylit’s Cloth of Winds”, Rose Lemberg (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 11 Jun 2015)
    * “The Ladies’ Aquatic Gardening Society”, Henry Lien (Asimov’s Jun 2015)
    * “Rattlesnakes and Men”, Michael Bishop (Asimov’s Feb 2015)
    * “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers”, Alyssa Wong (Nightmare Oct 2015)
    * “Cat Pictures Please”, Naomi Kritzer (Clarkesworld Jan 2015)
    * “Damage”, David D. Levine (Tor.com 21 Jan 2015)
    * “Madeleine”, Amal El-Mohtar (Lightspeed Jun 2015)
    * “Today I Am Paul”, Martin L. Shoemaker (Clarkesworld Aug 2015)
    * “When Your Child Strays from God”, Sam J. Miller (Clarkesworld Jul 2015)
    * Updraft, Fran Wilde (Tor)
    * Archivist Wasp, Nicole Kornher-Stace (Big Mouth House)
    * Bone Gap, Laura Ruby (Balzer + Bray)
    * Court of Fives, Kate Elliott (Little, Brown)
    * Cuckoo Song, Frances Hardinge (Macmillan UK May 2014; Amulet)
    * Nimona, Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen)
    * Seriously Wicked, Tina Connolly (Tor Teen)
    * Shadowshaper, Daniel José Older (Levine)
    * Zeroboxer, Fonda Lee (Flux)
    * Mad Max: Fury Road (Written by George Miller, Brendan McCarthy, Nick Lathouris)
    * Ex Machina (Written by Alex Garland)
    * Inside Out (Screenplay by Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve, Josh Cooley; Original Story by Pete Docter, Ronnie del Carmen)
    * Jessica Jones: AKA Smile (Teleplay by Scott Reynolds & Melissa Rosenberg; Story by Jamie King & Scott Reynolds)
    * The Martian (Screenplay by Drew Goddard)
    * Star Wars: The Force Awakens (Written by Lawrence Kasdan & J.J. Abrams and Michael Arndt)

The Awards were presented at a ceremony held in the Palmer House Hilton in Chicago on evening of May 14, 2016, emceed by the very entertaining John Hodgman.  

--Andrew Liptak quoted Hodgman elsewhere: 
This year’s Nebula Award Banquet toastmaster was actor John Hodgman, who opened the show with a fun performance of ‘Radio SFWA’, pitched his own novel idea, A Feast for Bros and lamented the lack of genre NPR shows such as Car Talk: Fury Road.

--Todd Mason

More information about the Project-Wombat-Open mailing list